#VGMA20: Full list of award winners at 2019 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards

The 2019 annual Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMAs) came off last night at the reconstructed dome at the Accra International Conference (AICC) were the biggest names in Ghana music, producers and directors were awarded for their hard work.

The 20th edition of the awards opened with a performance of the new theme song “Our Music Lives” by the legendary Amandzeba, Adina, Akwaboah Jnr, Gifty Osei and Teephlow.

Celebrated Ghanaian artists like Sarkodie, Samini, Amakye Dede, AMG Medikal, Kwesi Arthur, King Promise, Kuami Eugene, Kidi, Nigerian Dancehall artiste Burna Boy among others thrilled the audiences with spectacular performances on the night.

However, winners for two keenly contested categories (Artiste of the year & Most popularly song of the year) were unannounced due to a fracas that ensued between Shatta Wale and Stonebwoy after the later was announced Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the year.

Organised by Charter House, the event was sponsored by telecommunication company Vodafone Ghana.

See full list of winners below:

Traditional Artiste of the Year – Kwan Pa

Instrumentalist of the Year – Mr Okyere

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr Rev Mrs Mary Ghansah

Lifetime Achievement Award – Obuoba J.A. Adofo and

Lifetime Achievement Award – Prof Kofi Abraham

Unsung Artiste of the Year – Kula

Gospel Song of the Year – Diana Hamilton for ‘Mo Ne Yo’

Highlife Song of the Year – Shatta Wale for ‘My Level’.

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year – Shatta Wale for ‘Gringo’

Hip-hop Song of the Year – Kwesi Arthur for ‘Anthem’

Hiplife Song of the Year – ‘Obiaa Wone Master’ by Yaa Pono feat Stonebwoy

Diana Hamilton – Gospel Artiste of the Year

Hiplife/Hip-pop Artiste of the Year – Medikal

Highlife Artiste of the Year – Kuame Eugene

Afropop song of the Year – ‘Akwaaba’ – Mr Eazi, Patapaa, Pappy Kojo

Reggae Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy

Artiste of the Decade – Sarkodie!

Album of the Year award -‘Rockstar’ by Kuami Eugene

Collaboration Of The Year
Stonebwoy – Kpoo Keke ft All Stars

Best African Collaboration of the Year award – AKWAABA’ by Guilty Beatz ft. Patapaa, Pappy Kojo and Mr Eazi

Group of the Year – Bethel Revival Choir

Best Rapper – Medikal

African Artiste of the Year – Burna Boy

Follow us on Twitter @tamaleonline and on Instagram @tamaleonline_tv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.