Mukarama Abdulai named Female Footballer of the year at MTN-SWAG Awards

Northern Ladies superstar, Mukarama Abdulai, has been adjudged the 2019 Female Footballer of the year at the 44th MTN-Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards for her remarkable performance with the Black Maiden at the 2018 World U-17 Women’s Championship held in Uruguay.

The 17year-old talented skipper won the Golden Boot Award after finishing top scorer with seven (7) goals though the Black Maidens exited the competition at the quarter finals stage.

Makarama beat the likes of Faustina Ampah (FC Minsk, Belarus & Black Queens) and Grace Asantewaa (Ampem Darkowaa Ladies & Black Princesses) for the honors.

The teenager who is currently in camp with the Black Queens for the WAFU Zone B tournament expressed the joyous feeling in the Tweet captioned below;

“Good Morning, I will like to say a big Thank You to @SWAG_Ghana, My Family, Friends and to everyone who helped made this possible. I’m forever grateful ALHAMDULILAH”

The 44th edition of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) awards ceremony was held on Saturday, May 11, 2019, at the Accra International Conference Center (AICC) with several sports personalities taking home honours.

Below is the full list of winners on the night:

Sports Personality of the Year – Thomas Partey

Footballer of the Year (Male) – Thomas Partey

Footballer of the Year (Female) – Mukarama Abdulai

Professional Boxer of the Year – Richard Commey

Arm wrestler of the Year (Female) – Alberta Ampomah

Arm wrestler of the Year (Male) – Haruna Tahiru

Table Tennis Player of the Year (Male) – Derrick Abrefa

Table Tennis Player of the Year (Female) – Celia Baah Danso

Athlete of the Year – Janet Amponsah

Amateur Boxer of the Year – Jessy Lartey

Para Athlete of the Year – Frederick Assor

Coach of the Year – Boakye Danquah

Professional Golfer of the Year – Kojo Barnni

National Team of the Year – The Eagles (Rugby)

Prospect Of The Year – Hor Halutie

Hockey Player of Year (Female) – Mavis Boatemaa Berko

Hockey Player of the Year (Male) – Emmanuel Ankomah

Rugby Player of the Year (Female) – Rafatu Inusah

Presidential Award – Joe Lartey Snr.

Follow us on Twitter @tamaleonline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.